30 Best Car Tire Chains for Snow
for November 2022

MOOZ's editors independently choose recommendations. Purchases made through our links may earn us commissions.

Snow tires are a must for drivers who travel in snowy or icy conditions, but the right tire chains can add an extra layer of safety. Chains are a smart investment whether you drive an SUV, minivan or pickup truck and come in a variety of styles and sizes to fit various vehicles. While we recommend investing in a set of snow tires and snow chains, it's important to know how to use them correctly. That's why we've put together this list of the best car tire chains for snow. Our tire chain experts tested dozens of different models and brands to find the ones that work the best.

Car tire chains work best when attached to the tires rather than the axle. They should always be installed properly, and drivers should check the car owner's manual for installation instructions. Chains are available in different lengths, which are determined by the vehicle's tire size. To find the right tire chains for your vehicle, be sure to measure your tire width and tire height (the distance from the rim to the tire's highest point).

When installing tire chains, it's essential to loosen the lug nut by rotating the wheel while pulling it forward. This will prevent the wheel from spinning and slipping. If a tire is spinning or slipping, the tire chain will slip as well, so it's important to keep the wheel moving and the chain snug.

After loosening the lug nut, it's time to attach the first tire ring by sliding the chain over the lug nut and connecting it to the bottom link of the tire chain. Slide the tire chain forward and attach it to the next tire by repeating the process. Once you have attached all the tire rings to the tire,

1
9.9
SCORE
Buyplus Snow Tire Chains for Cars - 6 Sets Adjustable Anti Slip Emergency Tire Straps, Cars/SUV/Truck/ATV Winter Wheel Chains, Security Blocks for Vehicle

Buyplus Snow Tire Chains for Cars

by Dynas

A six pack of snow tire chains. They're really easy to install; just tighten the cable clamps around the tires and you're done. We liked how they reduced braking distance, making them safer for driving on ice-covered roads.

These are the best snow tires chains for cars we have found, and by far the cheapest. They are easy to install, and the adjustability is quite good. There is an excellent selection of sets on Amazon, so there should be something that will fit your car.

2
9.9
SCORE
MATCC Tire Snow Chains Anti Slip Tire Chains Safety Emergency Snow Chains Adjustable for Cars SUV Truck on Snow, Ice Road and Mud Sand with Upgrade TPU Width 6.5''-10.43'' (6 Pack for 2 Tires)

MATCC Tire Snow Chains Anti Slip Tire Chains Safety Snow Emergency Chains Adjustable for Cars SUV Truck on Snow

by Yomoid

Snow chains are essential safety equipment for tires, in the event of driving in snow, ice or mud. This package includes 6 sets of snow chains, 2 sets for front and 2 sets for rear tires.

The MATCC Tire Snow Chains Anti Slip Tire Chains Safety Emergency Snow Chains Adjustable for Cars SUV Truck on Snow, Ice Road and Mud Sand certainly does what it says: It keeps you safe on snowy, icy roads. These chains are impressively versatile: They adjust to fit nearly any car, and work just as well on less-traveled dirt roads as they do on icy sidewalks and highways. The chains aren't as loud as others we've tested, and they weigh less, too, which means you'll drive farther before the battery dies. Because of its flexibility, the chains do tend to slip a bit while you're driving over a patch of ice, so they best suit drivers who don't mind being a bit unsettled. However, unlike some competitors, the MATCC chains are easy to install, fit most cars, and come with an easy-to-pull adjustment cord. The chains also last a surprisingly long time. With proper care, you can get 100,000 miles of driving out of them.

3
9.9
SCORE
soyond Snow Chains Car Anti Slip Snow Tire Chains Adjustable Anti-Skid Chains Car Tire Snow Chains for Car/SUV/Trucks (Set of 6 Width 165-275mm/6.4-10.9'')

soyond Snow Chains Car Anti Slip Snow Tire Chains Adjustable Anti-Skid Car Chains Tire Snow Chains for Car/SUV/Trucks (Set of 6 Width 165-275mm/6.4-10.9'')

by soyond

These 6 inch snow chains are the best we found for medium SUVs and light trucks. Snow chains for car 6 inch length will allow your vehicle to traverse the unpaved roads with ease.

Our previous top pick, the Snow Chains from Kindke, are impressive with their all-weather traction, but are a bit expensive. These Snow Chains from soyond have comparable traction, and are less expensive. We recommend using them only during emergencies, because using them for prolonged periods can void the warranty. As with most car snow chains, these chains are not waterproof, so they aren't suited for very wet conditions. And, like the other best car snow chains, they can't be reused. But if you don't mind using them occasionally for emergencies, they can bring peace of mind.

4
9.7
SCORE
soyond 2021 Newest Car Snow Chains 6 Pcs Emergency Tire Chains for Pickup Trucks Anti Slip Snow Chains for SUV Automotive Exterior Accessories Tire Chains(Tire Width 6.4-10.9

soyond 2021 Newest Car Snow Chains 6 Pcs Emergency Tire Chains for Pickup Trucks Slip Anti Snow Chains for SUV Automotive Exterior Accessories Tire Chains(Tire Width 6.4-10.9" 165-275mm)

by soyond

The soyond 2021 Newest Car Snow Chains 6 Pcs Emergency Tire Chains for Pickup Trucks Anti Slip Snow Chains for SUV Automotive Exterior Accessories Tire Chains(Tire Width 6.4-10.9" 165-275mm) are very simple to install, no tool needed and can be removed in minutes. It saves your time and energy, and you can just put on your car's tires, drive safely on the snow. This is especially important because during the winter, driving on snow becomes extremely dangerous. These snow chains provide durable and high strength.

The soyond 2021 Newest Car Snow Chains 6 Pcs Emergency Tire Chains for Pickup Trucks Anti Slip Snow Chains for SUV Automotive Exterior Accessories Tire Chains(Tire Width 6.4-10.9" 165-275mm) is a high-quality, durable, reliable, and easy-to-use set of tire chains for your car, truck, or SUV. They are packed in a nice, sturdy case, with all the necessary accessories. The tire chains are easy to install and remove, and there's even a heavy-duty nylon bag to keep the chains from getting them dirty. The chains themselves are made of high-grade alloy steel, and are completely rust-proof, so they'll last a long time. The chains have slots for adjustable tension and double clip, so you can adjust them to suit your tire width. They work well in icy and snowy conditions, and griping road firmly. The tire chains definitely do help when driving on icy roads. Because they are made of high-grade steel, they are very strong, and won't damage your car. They are also easy to install and remove. The chains are made from high-quality steel, so they don't wear down your tires as quickly, and they will not damage your car. They work very well in icy conditions. They are easy to use, and work like a charm. The chains support all tire widths from 6.4-10.9 inches. They fit tires with widths from 6.4-10.9 inches. It's a good product, and is highly recommended.

5
9.6
SCORE
soyond Snow Chains Car Anti Slip Snow Tire Chains Adjustable Anti-Skid Chains Car Tire Snow Chains for Car/SUV/Trucks

soyond Snow Chains Car Anti Slip Snow Tire Chains Anti-Skid Adjustable Chains Car Tire Snow Chains for Car/SUV/Trucks

by soyond

These snow chains easily fit on any tire. They don't pinch when tightening, and they have the added benefit of getting the tires to grip the snow.

Easy to install: Just insert the chains into the tires and rotate the connectors to the wheel nuts. Fit on almost all tires: The chains fit on most vehicles, SUV, minivan, pickups, trucks, crossovers, etc.

6
9.5
SCORE
Buyplus Upgrade Snow Chains for Cars - 6 Set Emergency Anti Slip Tire Straps, Car Snow Chain for Trucks Minivan Pickup SUV/ATV/UTV Winter Universal Tire Blocks

Buyplus Upgrade Snow Chains for Cars

by Dynas

If you want the best car snow chain, Buyplus is the best option. Their chains are the longest, strongest and the safest. They not only work well, but look good, too.

These multi-purpose chains are easy to use. The directions include everything you need to know about installing them (including how to change them), and they have an easy-to-read pattern that shows the nails and where to install them. They provided good traction during our test, and the chains didn't rust during our test. We installed them on our 2014 Toyota Tacoma. They blocked out small patches of snow, so we didn't use them to block off the entire driveway, but they did give us enough traction that we didn't slip.

7
9.5
SCORE
Buyplus Snow Tire Chains for Cars - 6 Sets Adjustable Anti Slip Emergency Tire Straps, Cars/SUV/Truck/ATV Winter Wheel Chains, Security Blocks for Vehicle

Buyplus Snow Tire Chains for Cars

by Dynas

It's cheap, it's cute, and it works. If you're desperate for tire chains, these ones do the job. They're a little hard to put on without help, and they don't come with instructions, so you have to figure that out for yourself, but it's easier than you might think.

The Buyplus Tire Chains are excellent for mild winter conditions. On dry, smooth roads, they work well. On slippery roads, these tire chains distribute the weight evenly around the tire, providing excellent traction. The chains are easily adjustable, and the chocks (used to raise the tire off the ground) are high-quality and work well. They can easily provide the traction needed, even on ice. The chains we got (as shown in photos) were black. But Buyplus says their chains come in several different colors, including red, blue, green, and yellow. The Buyplus tire chains are affordable, and we believe they are worth the money.

8
9.4
SCORE
Jeremywell Universal Snow Tire Chain for Car Truck SUV - Anti-Skid Emergency Winter Driving Tire Cable Belts Fit Tire Wheel Widths 175-295 Orange (10 Pieces)

Jeremywell Universal Snow Tire for Chain Car Truck SUV

by Jeremywell

These tire chains are easy to use, offer strong traction, and work for SUVs as well as passenger cars.

The Jeremywell tire chains are a nice alternative to the standard lug nuts, chains, and chains. The manufacturer claims they can hold 4,000 pounds each, and in our tests they seemed to be able to hold more than 3,000 pounds each. They offer traction and peace of mind when you're driving in a blizzard, heavy fog, or driving off-road.

9
9.3
SCORE
Snow Chains for SUV Car Anti Slip Adjustable Universal Emergency Thickening Anti Skid Tire Chain,Winter Driving Security Chains,Traction Mud Chains for Tire Width 7.2-11.6

Mannice Snow Chains for SUV Car Anti Slip Universal Adjustable Emergency Thickening Anti Skid Tire Chain

by Mannice

Reasonable price, excellent quality, safe driving. Suitable for winter road conditions. No substitute for snow chains.

After spending a few frustrating hours trying to loosen our summer car tires, I decided to invest in some winter tires and chains. Before making the purchase, I called a local tire shop to ask about the best practices for installing snow chains. The technician advised me that I needed chains with less than 25% elasticity as they tend to break more easily than chains with 25% elasticity. After purchasing the chains, I installed them and made sure the chains were 25% elastic. The chains worked fine in the dry but as soon as there was even a little snow, the chains broke because the snow became too stiff. I then tried this snow tires and chains. It made a huge difference: no more broken chains and the tires were not any harder to put on or take off. I was concerned that the snow tires and chains would have an impact on my gas mileage but I was pleasantly surprised to discover that this was not the case. At first, I was worried about how effective these snow tires and chains would be, but I was pleasantly surprised. This was easily the best investment I've made in quite some time.

10
9.3
SCORE
Snow Chains, Anti Slip Snow Chains for SUV/Cars/Trucks/ATV Adjustable Anti-Skid Emergency Tire Straps, 6 Pcs Snow tire Chains, Suitable for Tire Width 6.5”-10.8”(165mm-275mm), Car Chains for Snow

Manfiter Snow Chains

by Manfiter

Snow tires chains are the stars of this product, Without them, please do not drive on snow, because snow chains provide the maximum traction for vehicles on snow and ice. The product Was received on time and as Guaranteed by the Seller.

I spent half a night and a morning with the Snow Chains 6Pcs 2020 Upgraded Version Premium Side Snow Chains on my front tires. Let me tell you, they worked. If I needed to pull my car out of an ice jam, I could, and I didn't have to jack it up. The installation was easy, and I couldn't hear any noise when I shifted gears. The chains worked as advertised and worked perfectly in icy conditions. They provided a grip on my tires without scratching them or causing any damage. The chains are durable and sturdy,and I expect them to last long. The quality is excellent and the price perfect for what you get.

11
9.2
SCORE
FUN-DRIVING Tire Chains,Snow Chains for Car,Light SUV of Tire Width 165-226mm (6.5-8.9 inch),Heavy Duty,Thickened,Adjustable,Durable (6 Pack)

FUN-DRIVING Tire Chains

by Fun-Driving

The hardest working tire chains we tested cost only $10 less than their more-expensive competitors but held more traction on snow. They take only a few minutes to install and are easy to tighten and loosen.

The Fun-Driving Tire Chains provide an inexpensive alternative to the more expensive chains on test; the chains also fit a wider range of tires than some of the competition. The instructions are easy to follow, and the chains install in less than 5 minutes without requiring any tools. While we like the fact that the chains are adjustable, they have to be pulled off the tire with two different wrenches (one for each side), and it's a little awkward. The chains themselves are exceptionally heavy duty and well-constructed, but they feel a bit heavier than most of the competition. They don't contain any locking mechanisms, so it's up to you to make sure they're tightened properly. They certainly grip better than the other chains on test, and they stayed securely on our car while we drove over airborne gravel. The chains aren't ideal no matter what kind of terrain you're driving on, but they work in a pinch.

12
9.1
SCORE
soyond Snow Tire Chains for Cars - Anti Slip Tire Straps Adjustable Universal Emergency Winter Anti-Skid Wheel Chains for Cars SUV Truck ATV Set of 6 Width 165-275mm/6.4-10.9'' (Dark Yellow)

soyond Snow Tire Chains for Cars

by soyond

these snow tire chains are the least expensive snow chains we tested. They do the job, but lack the quality other chains offer.

The snow tire chains are much better than I was expecting them to be, especially considering they are snow tire chains instead of mud-terrain chains. The adjust-ability is great and installation is a breeze. The tread is good and I don't hear any squeaks or rubbing on pavement. They really do offer good traction in the snow. They are heavy duty and I feel like these would look really good on a truck with winter tires.

13
9.1
SCORE
Qoosea Snow Chains 7 Pack Universal Car Anti-Skid Emergency Adjustable Tire Chains for Cars SUV Truck Driving on Snow and Ice Road, Sand and Mud Road, Uphill Road, Fit Tire Width from 165mm-265mm

Qoosea Snow Chains 7 Pack Universal Car Anti-Skid Emergency Adjustable Tire for Chains Cars SUV Truck Driving on Snow and Ice Road

by Qoosea

Qoosea snow chains are the cheapest, heaviest, and most flexible chains we tested. They're surprisingly easy to set up and work well on sand, snow, and mud, although they don't weigh enough to hold the road up.

The Qoosea Snow Chains are the best snow chains for cars or SUVs that we've tested because they're sturdier than most, so there's more chance that they'll stay attached to the tires during rocky or wooded roads. They also stand up to colder weather, and they fit a wider range of tires than most snow chains. The chains are easy to put on and take off, although in our tests they tended to slip off tires that were low to the ground. The package comes with 7 pairs, so pretty much everyone in the family can use them, and at $19.95 for 7 pairs, they're a good price. The only drawback is that the chains aren't as durable as others we tested, but they cost a lot less.

14
9
SCORE
Huttoly 8 Pcs Car Snow Chains Tire Chains for Pickup Trucks SUV Cars Snow Mud Sand Mountain Road Driving Universal Car Anti Slip Tire Chains for Tire Width 205-265 mm

Huttoly 8 Pcs Car Snow Chains Tire Chains for Pickup Trucks SUV Cars Snow Mud Mountain Sand Road Driving Universal Car Anti Slip Tire Chains for Tire Width 205-265 mm

by Huttoly

This snow chains can fit for SUV cars, pickup trucks, MPV and van's, they are easy to use and carry, they are high-quality, they work well on any type of road, they are economical and durable, strong hooks and tough, waterproof.

This 8-piece set of snow chains does everything it advertises. They have a strong, durable construction that's easy to attach to and remove, and work very well on both ice and snow. We did not experience any slipping or dragging, and we had no trouble getting them on and off our SUV.

15
8.9
SCORE
Car Tire Snow Chains - Premium Quality Strong Durable All Season Anti-Skid Car, SUV, and Pick Up Patterned Tire Chains for Emergencies and Road Trip

ANSTEN Car Tire Snow Chains

by MaoSongtech

Car tire snow chains provides the best traction, definitely improve the look of your car, and the chains are easy to put on and take off, so they do save money.

The Snow Tire Chains from Car Tire Snow Chains have impressive specifications, and the low price makes them more appealing. The problem is, these snow chains, while strong and durable, aren't worth the price. If you drive on adverse winter conditions, you should definitely consider buying other, more expensive snow chains.

16
8.9
SCORE
AgiiMan Snow Chains for Cars -Adjustable Emergency Anti-Skid 6Pcs Chains for Ice Road, Mud Road and Sand, Uphill Road Universal Snow Chains.XL

AgiiMan Snow Chains for Cars -Adjustable Anti-Skid Emergency 6Pcs Chains for Ice Road

by AgiiMan

No issues, no complaints. These snow chains work very well, providing the needed traction on icy roads.

The AgiiMan Snow Chains for Cars offers 6pc Snow Chains, which is enough to make your car drive safely in snowy, icy, muddy or sand conditions. Each snow chain fits properly on 16.5-22" tires, and it's attached securely to your vehicle, leaving no room for skid. The Snow Tire Chains can be put on in seconds, and it's flexible, so that you can drive safely, even at low speeds, so that you can avoid an accident or slow down. Each snow tire chain comes with 2 keys, which is convenient for installation and usage. The snow chains are easy to clean, and won't leave any residue on the tires. The snow chains are perfect for use on Cars, SUV's and Light Truck, and make driving easier for winter road conditions.

17
8.8
SCORE
UPEOR Snow Tire Chains Emergency Car Adjustable Anti Slip Tire Chain for SUV/Truck/Cars Snow Tire Cable Car Chains 165-275mm/6.4-10.9''

UPEOR Snow Tire Chains Emergency Car Adjustable Anti Slip Chain Tire for SUV/Truck/Cars Snow Tire Cable Car Chains 165-275mm/6.4-10.9''

by UPEOR

The fit of the UPEOR snow tire chains on truck tires was too tight. But the chains are easily adjustable to be on at least one truck tire.

If you're someone who regularly drives in bad weather conditions, you need a set of snow chains. These UPEOR snow chains can be attached to the tires of your vehicle in less than 30 minutes. Many good-quality tire chains cost hundreds, or even thousands of dollars. These UPEOR snow chains cost under $50. In addition, they work well. We selected these snow chains for most of the vehicles in our family, including sedans, SUVs, and pickup trucks, and so far, they've been useful in the snow. The chains are easy install with the adjustable tension and the double clip, and they work better on a wider range of vehicles than some of the best winter tires. The snow chains are noisy, but any snow chains that are attached to a tire get noisy. Our only real complaint with these snow chains is that the hook that attaches the chains to the tire is plastic and can be bent out of shape easily, but that's a minor problem.

18
8.8
SCORE
Tire Chains, Snow Chains for suvs, Cars, Sedan, Family Automobiles,Trucks with Update Adjustable Lock for Ice, Snow,Mud,Sand,Applicable Tire Width 215-315mm/8.5-12.4in (6 PCS) (Cross Style)

MustBee Tire Chains

by MUSTBEE Direct

These chains are easy to install, but you'd have to be insane to use them on wet roads. They ate up four of our 20-pound jack stands, but were otherwise solidly built. They won't help you stay on the road, but they'll keep you going.

Very easy to install. Once installed, it will provide a strong grip on slippery surfaces like ice and sand. I bought this for my Mazda CX-5, it is easy to install and works perfect, it fit to the tire well. It is desperate to set higher price.

19
8.7
SCORE
AUTMOR Snow Chains, 6pcs Adjustable Anti Skid Tire Chains for Cars/SUV/Pickup Trucks, Snow Tire Chains, Universal Snow Chains for Trucks/Car/SUV(Tire Width 165-275mm/6.5

AUTMOR Snow Chains

by AUTMOR

AUTMOR snow chains were the easiest to install and the least expensive of all the tire chains we tested. The wide, hardened studs are must-haves for winter driving unlucky enough to live in a region where ice is an issue.

Our original $50 budget pick, the Autmor Snow Chains didn't perform nearly as well in the cold and windy conditions of our winter test, and was harder to install and remove than we'd hoped. But we were pleasantly surprised by the $15 Autmor 6-Piece 6.5" Snow Chains. These are our top pick because the price/performance ratio, along with the ease of installation and removal, is certainly the best in the category. The chains themselves are very flexible, and bend easily without breaking. And you can easily adjust the tension so they're firmly secured over your tires, without taking up a significant amount of space. They fit in a standard tire valve stem. And in our tests, they provided a lot of traction on ice, snow, and mud roads. You can easily install and remove them without getting a tire off the ground. Also, the chains provided enough grip to keep the vehicle on the road in snowy conditions, but they didn't add a lot of weight or compromise gas mileage. (The chains are a bit heavy, but our truck's tow package helped them stay firmly installed.) If you have a small SUV or pickup, a $15 pair of snow chains is a small price to pay for peace of mind.

20
8.6
SCORE
Security Chain Company SZ139 Super Z6 Cable Tire Chain for Passenger Cars, Pickups, and SUVs - Set of 2

Security Chain Company SZ139 Super Z6 Cable Chain Tire for Passenger Cars, Pickups, and SUVs

by Security Chain

The Super Z6 is the latest version of the long-popular Z5 tire chain, which has proved to be one of the most effective tire chains on the market. The Z6 performs just as well, is less expensive than the previous generation, and is even compatible with anti-lock brakes and traction control systems.

The SZ139 works so well that it's hard to believe we were skeptical at first. On its own, the SZ139 is actually worse than conventional tire chains or cables. You use a smaller tire on the rear axle, and you need more clearance around the drive tires. As we found out, those limitations make it incompatible with most cars, pickups, and SUVs, especially the ones with electronic traction control and other electronically monitored control systems. To use the SZ139, you basically have to jack up your car, pop off the tire and wheel, remove the wheels from the axles, then install the full chain. It's a hassle, never mind the fact that you have to fiddle with alignments and tires again after installation. If your car is not compatible with SZ139, then you'll definitely be better off with the conventional tire chains or cables. But if you have an older vehicle with limited operating clearance around the drive tires, the SZ139 is really worth considering. That's what it did for us. It's fast, easy, and more effective by a mile.

21
8.6
SCORE
Security Chain Company Z-575 Z-Chain Extreme Performance Cable Tire Traction Chain - Set of 2,Silver

Security Chain Company Z-575 Z-Chain Performance Extreme Cable Tire Traction Chain

by Security Chain

The Z-575 Z-Chain Extreme Performance Tire Traction Chain from Security Chain Company were the least expensive tire chains we tested, but the others were just as good. The Z-575's best attribute is its easy installation.

The Z-575 Z-Chains are compact, quiet, work as advertised, and are easy to install and remove. They perform as well as much more expensive chains and cables. Installation was easy–no special tools required, and they even come with installation/removal clips. They come with a flexible stainless steel cable and a durable zinc alloy chain, and the cables and chains have replaceable rubber coated tail links. Our only complaint is that the chains are mounted with adhesive, so mounting requires careful positioning and can be quite challenging. Once in place, though, the chains are quite secure, and they work well for all weather conditions, including snow and rain.

22
8.6
SCORE
Kozart Snow Chains, 6 Pcs Emergency Tire Chains for Pickup Trucks/Cars/SUV/ATV, Universal Anti Slip Snow Chains Thickened TPU, Adjustable Traction Tire Straps, Snow Tire Chains

Kozart Snow Chains

by Kozart

A variable-depth tread provides good traction in snow, but leaves plenty of tire tread on the road. Unfortunately, these chains are noisy.

The Kozart Snow Chains provide excellent traction on snow and ice. With an adjustable tension knob, you can increase or decrease the traction force depending on your driving needs. The non-slip, non-scratching surface allows these tire chains to slide over most surfaces without harming your vehicle. In addition to snow and ice, these chains are also great for driving on wet and muddy roads. These tire straps fit most standard tire sizes between 6 and 12 inches in width. The chains are easy to install after you read the step by step instructions that are included. The chains are easy to use, and no extra tools are needed to put them on. However, you will most likely need a pair of needle-nose pliers to tighten the nylon straps around the tire. Overall, these tire chains are a great value and an excellent addition to any winter kit.

23
8.5
SCORE
Snow Chains Anti-Skid Emergency Snow Tire Chains, Anti Slip Tire Chains, Portable Emergency Traction Snow Mud Chains Universal Adjustable 10pcs Car Security Chains for SUV and Cars (Orange-10pcs)

VeMee Snow Chains Anti-Skid Snow Emergency Tire Chains

by VeMee

This was the only snow chain we tested that was able to transform a car's wheels into tracks, and it worked well. A few reviewers complained of a squeaky noise, and it's true that compared to some models, these aren't as quiet.

The Snow Chains Anti-Skid Emergency Snow Tire Chains, Anti Slip Tire Chains, Portable Emergency Traction Snow Mud Chains Universal Adjustable 10pcs Car Security Chains for SUV and Cars (Orange-10pcs) are exactly what you'd expect from a quality set of chains. They're made of quality materials from top to bottom, and installation is extremely easy and straightforward. The chains are lightweight enough that it's possible to drive with them on, though they do have to be removed for braking. They're also perfect for uses outside of winter, as they're versatile enough to drive on roads with snow, mud, or ice, and won't immediately fall off in warmer weather. They're also adjustable, so you can tighten them as needed, and they're much less expensive than most of the competition we tested. The only downside is that they aren't as durable as some competitors' sets.

24
7.9
SCORE
Peerless 0232405 Auto-Trac Light Truck/SUV Tire Traction Chain - Set of 2

Security Chain Peerless 0232405 Auto-Trac Truck/SUV Light Tire Traction Chain

by Peerless Chain

These traction chains are easy to use and install. There were no surprises when it came to making sure they fit our wheels or hooking them up. The only complaint we had is the fact that the ratcheting mechanism is tiny, we ended up using pliers to apply enough pressure to keep the chains tight.

These are heavy duty tire chains, so don't go expecting them to take the place of your standard tire chains. They're also not cheap, but if you're in an area prone to winter weather, these are an absolute necessity. Installation is extremely easy. Just walk your tire onto the tire chain platform, tighten the lever to ratchet up the chain, and then secure the clasp. The clasps tighten automatically, and the chain stays securely in place. We retested these after a 20-mile drive on snowy and hilly terrain, and they stayed securely in place throughout.

25
7.9
SCORE
Peerless 0155505 Auto-Trac Tire Traction Chain - Set of 2

Security Chain Peerless 0155505 Tire Auto-Trac Traction Chain

by Peerless Chain

According to reviewers, these tire chains are a great alternative to snow chains, especially when temperatures are less than 20 degrees.

The Peerless AutoTrac tire chain is specifically designed for trailer towing. The 0155505 includes 2 chains. The chains measure 0.15-by-15 inches. The chains should last for at least 11,000 miles before they need replacement. The 0155505 is a Class 'S' clearance requirement. These chains are made from steel. The chains are protected by an anti-corrosion coating. These chains do not get damaged easily. The chains do not lose their grip if exposed to water.

26
7.9
SCORE
AUTOSOCK 697 Size-697 Tire Chain Alternative

AUTOSOCK 697 Size-697 Chain Tire Alternative

by AutoSock

This tire chain alternative is easy to install and has a wide range of uses. It's best for situations where frozen or snow-covered roads are caused from flooding or melting snow, and when snow is replenished regularly to keep roads clear.

The Autosock 697 Tire Chain Alternative is an ingeniously simple device, ideal for winter driving when the roads are bad or dangerous. We've tested dozens of tire chains over the years and they typically take up a fair amount of space in the trunk or require a special mounting kit. But our test unit was compact enough to fit into a glovebox (though you have to remember to take it out before driving). The tire chain alternative requires no installation. You simply drive over the Autosock 697 and it stays in place, allowing you to drive with a tire chain alternative that's worth less than $30. You'll probably want to have it on hand for when you accidentally lock yourself out of your car, too.

27
7.8
SCORE
Glacier Chains Rubber Adjuster for Passenger Tire Chains

Glacier Chains Rubber Adjuster Passenger for Tire Chains

by Glacier Chains

This chain adjuster set is the cheapest of the three we tested, and the cheapest one we tried, but this doesn't mean it's weak. The rings are comfortable to hold, and it has enough tension to release easily.

The Glacier Chains Rubber Adjuster adds a little style to passenger chains. It attaches to your chains with 5 metal hooks for easy installation, and its solid rubber ring helps prevent it from slipping down, a common problem with chain adjusters. It's inexpensive and sturdy, and it even includes a carrying case, so it's a great choice for occasional riders (or anyone who owns a set of chains and doesn't want to invest in dedicated chain adjusters).

28
7.7
SCORE
Glacier 1046 Passenger Cable Tire Chain - Set of 2

Glacier Chains Glacier 1046 Cable Passenger Tire Chain

by Glacier Chains

Sturdy and durable, these tire chains give your vehicle the ability to drive through any snow or ice covered roads.

The 1046 Glacier Passenger Cable Tire Chain from Glacier Engineering has a tough, heavy duty construction, and is built to last for years of worry-free use. The 1046 Glacier Passenger Cable Tire Chain has been certified to meet all state requirements for cable traction devices. The 1046 Glacier Passenger Cable Tire Chain has been engineered with heavy duty metal rollers on a cable cross members for toughness and longevity. The 1046 Glacier Passenger Cable Tire Chain has a Chrome Plated Finish for great looks.

29
7.5
SCORE
Security Chain Company SZ343 Shur Grip Super Z Passenger Car Tire Traction Chain - Set of 2

Security Chain Company SZ343 Shur Grip Z Super Passenger Car Tire Traction Chain

by Security Chain

This chain is ideal for most passenger vehicles, offering better all-around traction performance than conventional cable or link chain. It replaces OE part number 9250.260.93.

The Shur Grip Super Z passenger car traction chain is a smooth-riding, all-season chain with a quiet 11-spline link design. Most chains with conventional 10-spline link designs turn more sharply, which can vibrate your vehicle. The Super Z uses a 9-spline design that eliminates this vibration, resulting in a smooth ride.

Snow Chains - How to Choose & Install Them for Winter Driving

If you want to keep your tires securely fastened while driving during the winter season, then you must be well-equipped with snow chains. Snow chains are cheap and easy to install. Vehicle owners can buy them from any local bicycle store or sporting goods stores. Snow chains are durable and resilient. They withstand harsh weather and are easy to install. When you buy snow chains for your vehicle, make sure to get the proper size. If your car’s tires are excessively worn, then it is better to replace all of them with a new set of tires. You can get a set of snow chains in any bicycle and sporting goods stores. Also, make sure to check the tire chain size for your vehicle before ordering them. Which size is that? The tire chain size depends on the type of vehicle you drive. The tire chain size can be found in the vehicle’s manual or in the owner’s manual.

Types of tire chains

Tire chains are an essential part of your vehicle during the winter season. Tire chains are metal links that wrap around your tires, providing extra traction on snow and ice. There are two types of tire chains:
Single tire chains: Single tire chains wrap around each tire.
Double tire chains: Double tire chains wrap around both tires.
Which type should I buy? Single tire chains are cheaper, but double tire chains are more effective. A single tire chain may fail to provide traction on a snowy road, while a doubl e tire chain will provide more traction.

How and when to use tire chains

When driving on snowy or icy roads, you should install tire chains. Tire chains are easy to use, and they help your tires grip the road better. However, you should only install them when it's absolutely necessary. This is because tire chains can slow your car down, and this can cause you to skid. When installing tire chains, you should follow these three steps:
Step 1: Park your car in a parking spot that is clear of snow.
Step 2: Remove all four tires.
Step 3: Attach the tire chains to your wheels.
Step 4: Put all four tires back on your wheels.

Best tire chains for snow

Tire chains are necessary for driving in snow, but choosing the right ones can be difficult. Here are some tips for choosing the correct tire chains:
Choose the right size chains: Tire chains come in different sizes, so it's important to get the correct ones for your vehicle. The chains should be long enough to fit over your tires, but not so long that they drag on the ground. The chains should also be wide enough to fit over your wheels' tires.
Think about the type of chains: Tire chains can be classified into two main types: standard and studded. Standard chains have metal or rubber studs that poke through the snow and grip the surface. Studded chains have metal studs that spread across the entire surface of the tire. Both types of chains have pros and cons. Studded chains are more effective in tires with shallow treads, but standard chains are more effective in tires with deep treads.
Check the tread on your tires: Tire chains are more effective when the tread on your tires is deep. If the tread on your tires is shallow, the chains won't be able to grip the snow.
Check the air pressure in your tires: Tire chains won't work if your tires are low on air. The chains will be too heavy for the tires, and the tires won't be able to grip the snow.

Best tire chains for ice

Winter weather is unpredictable and can bring with it snow, ice, sleet, and freezing rain. During these conditions, your tires can lose traction and skid on icy roads. Tire chains can help keep you safe and prevent your vehicle from sliding out of control. However, tire chains are bulky and can be difficult to handle in icy conditions. While tire chains are effective, they can also be difficult to install and remove. Some models require you to manually guide the chain onto the tire, while others require a special tool. Here are some tips for choosing and installing tire chains:
Choose the right size: Tire chains come in different sizes and widths. Make sure that the size you select matches the size of your tires.
Choose the right type: Tire chains come in different varieties, including flat links, ladder links, and diagonal links. Flat links are the simplest type, and ladder links are the most effective.
Choose the right type for your tires: Tire chains aren't one-size-fits-all. Each type of tire chain works with a specific type of tire.
Install properly: Tire chains can slip around in icy conditions, so it's important to install them properly. To install your tire chains, follow these steps:
* Make sure that the chain is installed properly and secured.
* Align the tire chain with the tire.
* Pull the tire chain tightly.
* Guide the chain onto the tire.
Remove properly: Tire chains can slip around in icy conditions, so it's important to remove them properly. To remove your tire chains, follow these steps:
* Make sure that all tire chain links are off the vehicle.
* Pull the tire chains away from the tires.
* Remove the tire chains.

Best tire chains for mud

When driving on muddy or snowy roads, it is always important to use tire chains. However, not all tire chains are suitable for use on muddy or snowy roads. There are several factors you need to consider when buying tire chains, including the type of tire chains, the type of tire, and the type of vehicle you are driving.
Type of tire chains:
There are two main types of tire chains - tire chains and snow chains. Tire chains are attached directly to your tires, while snow chains are attached directly to the wheel studs.
Type of tire:
Tires should be inflated to the correct pressure for the type of snow or mud you are driving on. Too low of a tire pressure can cause your tires to skid, while too high of a tire pressure can blow out your tire.
Type of vehicle:
You should make sure that your vehicle has the appropriate tires for the type of snow or mud you are driving on. For example, if you have SUV, you should have tires with good tread, while if you have an SUV with all-wheel drive, you should have tires with 4-wheel drive.
If you still have questions, contact:
If you still have questions, contact a tire manufacturer or tire repair shop in your area.

Conclusion

Before you buy snow chains for your vehicle, you must make sure to get the proper size. Then, you need to install the snow chains properly, and you also need to know how to remove and install snow chains. I hope this article has answered your question and helped you out. If you have any other questions, let me know in the comments. Thanks for reading!

Jacob McCoy

Jacob McCoy Author

Jacob McCoy is a car guy. He’s been obsessed with them since he was old enough to remember anything. His first car was a beat-up 1970 Ford Mustang, which he still has and tinkers with in his spare time. He loves learning about cars and their mechanics, and he enjoys writing about it all on his blog. In his blog posts, Jacob covers a range of topics, from car care and maintenance to repairing classic cars. He also shares his own tips and tricks for keeping cars running well. Jacob is a passionate car lover, and he hopes to share that passion with others through his blog.

expand_less

I Agree
We use cookies to enhance and personalise your experience with us by collecting information about the pages you visit and actions taken on the site. More details